History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal

BannerBanner

Case Look-up Courts Directories Educational Resources E-Services Juror Information Online Media Resource Center Opinions Opportunities Self-Help Frequently Asked Questions Home Attorneys Espanol menu
  

 

Statewide Grievance Committee
Statewide Bar Counsel

Pro Hac Vice - Frequently Asked Questions

  1. How do I get permission to appear Pro Hac Vice in a case?
  2. Is there a fee to file a motion to appear pro hac vice?
  3. What happens after I am allowed to appear pro hac vice?
  4. What are my requirements in Connecticut after I am allowed to appear pro hac vice in Connecticut?
  5. How do I deactivate a pro hac vice juris number?


1. How do I get permission to appear Pro Hac Vice in a case? 
Section 2-16 of the Connecticut Practice Book sets forth the procedure for permission to appear pro hac vice in a case. There is no standard form that local counsel should file.

Top

2. Is there a fee to file a motion to appear pro hac vice?
A fee of $600 must be paid to the clerk of the Superior Court at the time any motion to appear pro hac vice is filed. This fee is separate from the Client Security Fund fee. Public Act 12-89 section 2.

Top

3. What happens after I am allowed to appear pro hac vice? 
If the Court grants a pro hac vice application, the pro hac vice attorney will be sent a juris (identification) number and a registration form, which must be completed. The pro hac vice attorney will then be sent paper registration forms every year until the juris number is deactivated (2 years after the attorney’s role in the matter is completed). The juris number will only be deactivated when the attorney notifies the Statewide Bar Counsel, as set forth below.

Top

4. What are my requirements in Connecticut after I am allowed to appear pro hac vice in Connecticut? 
The pro hac vice attorney must register every year until the juris number is deactivated. The juris number can be deactivated 2 years after the attorney’s role in the matter is completed. The attorney is subject to the attorney occupational tax. Effective January 1, 2012, pro hac vice attorneys will be required to pay the Client Security Fund fee.

Top

5. How do I deactivate a pro hac vice juris number? 
You will need to register with the Statewide Grievance Committee each year in which you participate in the matter and for 2 years thereafter. When the 2 year period has passed you should notify the Statewide Grievance Committee in writing that you were allowed to appear pro hac vice, when the application was granted, your juris number, the name and docket number of the case and that 2 years have passed since your participation in the matter.

You should address your letter to:

Statewide Bar Counsel
Statewide Grievance Committee
287 Main Street, 2nd Floor
East Hartford, CT 06118-1882

The Statewide Bar Counsel will send a letter notifying you that the juris number has been deactivated; you should save this letter for your records.

Top

 
 

Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQ's | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Policies and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2013, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch