Judicial Branch Statistics
Towns within Judicial Districts and Geographical Areas PDF
Towns & Cities Covered by Juvenile Court Locations PDF
Media Resource Center
Protective / Restraining Order
Protective Order / Restraining Orders - PDF
This table provides numbers for the past fiscal year and last quarters on
number of protective and restraining orders that were applied for and the
number that were granted.
Note on Table Creation: The information in the tables
comes from databases that are always being updated. As a result, the tables
only show the information that was in the databases on the day they were
created. Information in the databases can change because cases that were
disposed at the time the table was created were later reopened, or because
of the late entry of data. Because of this, all of the tables are created on
the 5th business day after the close of the fiscal year.
- Added case: A case that is entered into one of the Judicial Branch’s automated systems.
- Claimed case: A case in which a party or the party’s attorney (in a civil or family case) enters a claim that a case be placed onto a trial list.
- Disposed case: A case in which a decision has been made.
- Fiscal year: July 1st through June 30th.
- Pending case: A case in which a decision has not been made.
Protective / Restraining Order
Protective Order (section 46b-38c of the Connecticut General
Statutes) is an order that is issued at the time of arraignment during
a criminal proceeding. Usually these orders are
recommended by either the family relations office or in some
cases the state's attorney's office. These orders are usually
in effect from the date they are issued until the criminal case is sentenced and/or disposed of. In some cases
a protective order can be removed prior to the underlying case being
Standing Criminal Restraining Order (section 53a-40e
of the Connecticut General Statutes is an order that is issued usually at the end of a
criminal case. These are lifetime orders and remain in
effect until further order of the court. This order type is
generally issued when it is a more severe criminal case.
Restraining Order Application (section 46b-15 of the Connecticut General Statutes) is an application for a restraining
order ex parte (immediate). It is given out at the clerk's office to
people who come in for relief from abuse in family
cases. A Judge reviews the application and affidavit,
and decides whether or not to issue a restraining
order relief from abuse. If one is issued,
the application is then updated to an ex parte restraining
order. The Judge can also deny the ex parte relief and issue
an Order for Hearing and Notice Summons.
Ex Parte Restraining Order (section 46b-15 of the Connecticut General Statutes) is an order issued by the family court when someone has
completed the restraining order application. The Judge has
reviewed the application and affidavit, and issues a
temporary ex parte restraining order. A hearing date is
scheduled, and the respondent must be notified. Generally speaking, this order is
for 14 days, or until the date of the hearing. (Hearings can
be scheduled before the 14-day time limit).
- Restraining Order After
Hearing (section 46b-15 of the Connecticut General Statutes)
is issued after a hearing
on an ex parte restraining order, or an Order for Hearing and
Notice Summons. Again, this order type is issued out of the
family court. Generally speaking, it is effective for 6
months from the date of the hearing. A victim/applicant can
request that the restraining order after the hearing be extended
when the 6 months is about to run out. They must file
a motion to extend and the
respondent must again get notice.